You are here: > aruhaha > aruhaha_eng

view this page in: JAPANESE

An evening celebrating the bicentenary of Hans Christian Andersen

dance - singing - reading
performance of the new special noh-opera event


Date: April 7, 2005 @: UMEWAKA NOH THEATER, TOYKO Start: 19:00


Advance ticket: 5000yen. Day ticket: 5500yen. Student: 3000yen. All general seating

purchase :
Ticket PIA tel: 0570-02-9999 or 0570-02-9988
Aru haha office tel: 090-5771-1045 fax: 03-3489-6153
aru haha office

noh actor: tsumura reijiro
alto: kaja pihl
baritone: niels pihl
computer: jakob draminsky højmark

reading: oguri ryo

stage assistant: furukawa mitsuru / peter barslev

chorus: nakasho nobuo / suzuki keigo / ban shintaro / kuwata takashi

small hand drum: masahiro sakata
big hand drum: ookura shonosuke

see entire program

In 1847 the Danish writer H.C. Andersen wrote "The Story of a mother ", a short tale about a young mother who travels to the garden house of Death to try to get back her dead child.

In 2005 Ryokusenkai Noh group brings this story to stage in collaboration with Danish composer Jakob Draminsky Højmark and the Danish opera ensemble Musikteatret Undergrunden.

This new performance, combining elements from the Japanese Noh tradition, Western opera and contemporary electronic music, is part of the world wide celebration of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Andersen.

Andersen, well known the world over for stories like "The Ugly Duckling" " The Little Mermaid" and "The Little Match Girl" is considered by many a writer for children, but in spite of their simplicity many of his stories in fact treat universal themes relevant to people of all ages. Aru haha no monogatari is one of Andersens lesser known tales, but it is a deep, emotional story that sets the perfect frame for this crosscultural meeting.

Since 1974 Tokyo based Noh troupe Ryokusenkai has, under the direction of Mr Tsumura Reijiro ,organised numerous performances of traditional Noh as well as participated in projects involving other art forms both inside Japan and abroad.

The Underground Music Theatre is a Danish Chamber Opera founded in 1977 by the two singers Niels and Kaja Pihl. The ensemble works in a wide range of styles: avant garde experiments, repertory works and operetta (although rarely done in a traditional style), and opera for children.

Danish composer Jakob Draminsky Højmark has since 1993 written and produced seven small scale operas that has been show in Denmark and Spain. His works explores the combination of the human voice, acoustic instrument and electronic music.


press photos

audio from rehearsals

musikteatret undergrunden


draminsky højmark profile

h.c.andersen 2005